South Sydney Rabbitohs

South Sydney Rabbitohs

When the membership subsequently reverted to their traditional taking part in strip, the decision was made to put on black shorts as soon as extra. In 2008 the Rabbitohs wore white shorts to match the white stripe working down the facet of their jersey. The “Rabbitoh” emblem, a working white rabbit, first appeared on the staff’s jersey in 1959. The Rabbitoh emblem has in various forms been carried because the membership’s crest on every player’s jersey ever since.

See reference to John Bucknall from the Soaring Sea Eagles web site gamers page. See the 1955 season summary Archived 2 November 2013 at the Wayback Machine from the official South Sydney web site. Key Souths players purchased by Manly included internationals John O’Neill, Ray Branighan, Elwyn Walters, Mark Carroll, Terry Hill, Jim Serdaris and Ian Roberts and other stars such as Bob Moses, Tom Mooney and Craig Field. Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs – A more recent rivalry that primarily developed in the years 2014 and 2015, following a Grand Final and a controversial Good Friday match. Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles – Manly have, since 1970, bought a lot of Souths’ star players together with John O’Neill, Ray Branighan, Ian Roberts, and more lately Luke Burgess and Dylan Walker. A book, The Book of Feuds, chronicling the rivalries of the Rabbitohs with their NRL rivals was written by Mark Courtney on the instigation of Russell Crowe.

South Sydney

The end result additionally meant it was the membership’s third straight preliminary final loss. South Sydney won their first three games of the 2007 season and being competitive in every game. On the back of top-of-the-line defences in the competition, the Rabbitohs finished strongly making the semi-finals for the first time since 1989. They finished the season in 7th place, taking place to Manly within the playoffs. In 2000 and 2001, South Sydney fought their way again into the competitors following a string of excessive-profile legal battles against the National Rugby League and News Limited. A variety of nicely attended public rallies occurred during this time, as supporters from many different golf equipment obtained behind South Sydney’s case.


The 1925 side went by way of the season undefeated and is only one of six Australian premiership sides in historical past to have achieved this feat. Such was Souths dominance within the early years of the rugby league competitors that the Rabbitohs were labelled “The Pride of the League”. The club was formed in 1908 as one of the founding members of the New South Wales Rugby Football League, making them considered one of Australia’s oldest rugby league groups.

Aston Martin Lagonda Global Holdings Odd Shares Share Value
Corries Alan Halsall Says He Has No Regrets After Ex Lucy

You may also like...